Until the mid-15th century, the Jewish ghetto in Brno existed in what is now Františkánská Street. It was a kind of ‘city within a city’, with many irregularities and much disorder where the Jewish houses were built later. This was precisely how the place emerged that was known from the 18th century as Římské náměstí (Roman Square) due to its picturesque nature.
The former house no. 495 was owned by the bookbinder Ignác Sklepniczka in 1849. He also set up a pub here, run by the innkeeper Sokoll. The name of the pub ‘U uherského namlouvání’ (At the Hungarian Persuasion) originated as proof of friendly and cordial relations between the owner of the house and the innkeeper. Mr Sklepniczka ‘in Prešpurk persuaded the lovely lady Victoria’ and brought her to Brno; the inn’s new signboard greeted them with this name. This inn had many regular guests from good bourgeois circles. At the turn of the century, under the innkeeper Hugo Bulka, the pub was named ‘U dobrého kamaráda’ (At the Good Friend’s). The house was not damaged during World War II, but it was demolished in 1952, so that the whole group of buildings in the northern part of the square disappeared, and Římské náměstí lost its unique atmosphere.
In 1997, a survey of the northern part of the square was carried out, during which the underground of the former pub was discovered. Cellars of Gothic origin were built down three levels. From the largest space in the middle level, it was possible to descend the staircase to the lowest part, in which there is a stone well. It dates back to the 13th century and is the oldest dated object of its kind in Brno. It was later incorporated into the cellar system, but originally it reached the surface of the medieval terrain. A number of ceramic pots and parts of wooden containers from the second half of the 13th century were found at the bottom. The cellar is accessible only by a cast-iron hatch in the square.